Skip to content

I Forgot My Lunch! Fast Food Solutions Under 320 Calories

May 14, 2010

Flatout Foodie Logo

Almost every day I bring a lunch with snacks to work. I have learned that the best way to save money and calories (and still be able to continuously eat throughout the day) is to pack my own food. This system works well for me – my meals are filling, delicious and inexpensive.

Last week, I packed a Flatout turkey and swiss cheese wrap, a bag of portioned out EdgeOn Crisps (I’d munch my way through the whole bag if I brought it), chopped up carrots, celery and an apple.

You can imagine my disappointment when I discovered that I forgot my lunch bag.

Thinking of the fast food restaurants and coffee shops near my office, I assumed I’d have to surrender to the empty calories. Fortunately, I was wrong! After a quick search online, I found some great, low calorie options with plenty of filling fiber and nutrients to keep me full and happy. Check out some of the low-calorie and low-fat snack and lunch options at restaurants that are easy to come across. These are great options for when you forget your lunch or are in need of another snack.

subway
Source

Subway:

  • Turkey Breast Salad (no dressing): 110 cal, 2 g fat, 4 g fiber
  • Veggie Delite Salad (no dressing): 50 cal, 1 g fat, 4 g fiber
  • 6 inch Oven Roasted Chicken: 320 cal, 4.5 g fat, 5 g fiber
  • 6 inch Turkey Breast: 280 cal, 3.5 g fat, 5 g fiber
  • 6 inch Veggie Delite: 230 cal, 2.5 g fat, 5 g fiber
  • Bowl of Minestrone Soup: 90 cal, 1 g fat, 3 g fiber

Starbucks:

  • Petite Vanilla Bean Scone: 140 cal, 5 g fat, 0 g fiber
  • Spinach, Roasted, Tomato, Feta & Egg White Wrap: 280 cal, 10 g fat, 6 g fiber
  • Fruit Cup: 90 cal, 0 fat, 2 g fiber
  • Perfect Oatmeal (add 250 cal with dried fruit, nuts and brown sugar): 140 cal, 2.5 g fat, 4 g fiber
  • Caramel Frappuccino Lite: 90 cal, 0 g fat, 0 g fiber
  • Mocha Frappuccino Lite: 100 cal, .5 g fat, 1 g fiber

McDonalds:

  • Premium Southwest Salad with Grilled Chicken: 320 cal, 9 g fat, 6 g fiber
  • Premium Caesar Salad with Grilled Chicken: 220 cal, 6 g fat, 3 g fiber
  • Snack Size Fruit & Walnut Salad: 210 cal, 8 g fat, 2 g fiber
  • Fruit ‘n’ Yogurt Parfait: 160 cal, 2 g fat, 1 g fiber
  • Vanilla Reduced Fat Ice Cream Cone: 150 cal, 3.5 g fat, 0 g fiber

Dunkin’ Donuts:

  • Egg White & Cheese Wake-Up Wrap: 180 cal, 10 g fat, 1 g fiber
  • Garden Salad: 180 cal. 6 g fat, 4 g fiber
  • Chicken Noodle Soup: 130 cal, 3 g fat, 1 g fiber
  • Plain Bagel: 320 cal, 2.5 g fat, 5 g fiber

starbucks

Quick tips for any restaurant:

  • Choose grilled chicken. Any time there is a chicken sandwich or a salad with chicken, ask for them to grill the chicken instead of frying it.
  • Order salad versions of sandwiches when possible. Ask for all salad and sandwich dressings on the side and use sparingly.
  • Lose your bun. If you keep Flatout Flatbread at your office, replace buns and greasy breads with the our fiber-filled option.

***

We’d love to hear your fresh perspective!

  • What are your favorite healthy options at fast food restaurants and coffee shops?
  • How do you make restaurant foods healthier?
  • What items would you typically pack for a work or school lunch?

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

