Skip to content

Rainy Days Call For Sunny Jackets

May 18, 2010

Flatout Fabulous Logo

It never fails. Every year I pack up all of my winter clothing directly following the first few nice, sunny days of the season. I always have such high hopes that spring has arrived – and that summer is right around the corner. That soon I’ll have no need for anything besides cotton sun dresses and flip flops. And then the rain comes, the chilly breeze returns and I am forced to drag out my heavy jacket once again.

Bright Sunny Sky

When this happens, my mood often takes a dive as well. After a week of sunshine and warm weather, my brain just doesn’t agree with rain clouds and dark skies. So this year, I’ve decided to take matters into my own hands and brighten up my spring wardrobe with a sunshine yellow spring coat.

Colors have been said to affect your mood – both positively and negatively. Everyone from interior decorators to restaurant owners to clothing designers take color psychology into consideration. Yellow in particular is said to have an uplifting effect on your mood. It’s said to represent joy, happiness, optimism, idealism, imagination and hope. Who wouldn’t want a coat that could inspire all those things?

Here are my top picks for a coat that will inspire, without breaking your budget.

Banana Republic Jacket

Lands’ End Whirlwind Rain Jacket

Jones New York Jacket

Jones New York Signature Jacket with Zip Front

Old Navy Jacket

Old Navy Twill Cargo Jacket

***

We’d love to hear your fresh perspective!

  • Does the weather affect your mood?
  • Do you ever wear a color or outfit because it puts you in a better mood?
  • What color makes up the majority of your wardrobe?
2 Comments leave one →
  1. zena martell permalink
    May 19, 2010 3:12 pm

    I can not find Flatout anywhere in my area. They can be ordered from the website, however the limit is 12. I really don’t want to order that quantity until I’ve tried them. I’m located in lower Fairfield County Connecticut. Is there a store that is close by or a web site that does not require ordering so many?

    • May 29, 2010 4:39 am

      Hi Zena! We are located in A&P, Big Y, Kroger, ShopRite, Stew Leonards, Stop and Shop, Super Target and Walmart in Connecticut. One tip that some people have found helpful is that you can often find us near the deli aisle rather than the bread aisle. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

