Skip to content

Three FAB BlogHer Attendees You Should Know: Part Three

July 20, 2010

Flatout Fabulous Logo

It’s Monday night, which means it’s time to profile three more fabulous bloggers who will be attending BlogHer 2010 in just a few short weeks! If you missed the first three profile posts, you can find them herehere and here.

This week’s profile features three women who collectively have:

  • grown up as a PK (pastor’s kid)
  • memorized every line of the movie Ever After
  • kicked a cigarette addiction – but can’t live without coffee

***

Andrea

Name: Andrea Updyke (@AndreaUpdyke)

Resides In: Raleigh, NC

Blogs At: http://www.lilkidthings.com

Favorite Movie Character: Oh my, this is a good question. As far as actors go, my favorite is Will Ferrell. But a character? Hmm… I think I will stay true to my convictions and go with Ron Burgundy. Lovable, ridiculous and Will Ferrell at his best!

If I were a fruit, I would be: Well my jeans would tell you I’m a pear, but you didn’t ask them did you? I think I would like to be a peach, soft and fuzzy on the outside and sweet on the inside!

Addicted to: Coffee. Which is really difficult because I am pregnant! Keeping it to one cup a day is a challenge.

Currently Reading: I am a serial book-starter. It’s a sickness. I don’t know why, but there is something about cracking open a brand new book that exhilarates me! Apparently, follow through in this area is not my strong point because it takes me forever to finish. Currently my top two books are The Tipping Point and Captivating. Both excellent in very different ways.

You Should Know: I feel like a cat that has lived 9 lives already. I grew up as a Pastor’s kid who was home-schooled, lived in Israel for a few months and was married and divorced by the age of 19. I was a late bloomer scholastically and graduated college at the age of 26. I remarried two years later and now have a son and another baby on the way! Blogging has helped me get through a lot of these life changes and I have found that writing is super addictive! Perhaps in another ten years, I can add author to that list of lives.

Koupon Karen

Name: Karen Wilmes (@kouponkaren)

Resides In: Rhode Island

Blogs At: http://www.KouponKaren.com

Favorite Movie Character: Drew Barry More in Everafter. It’s a cindarella movie and I just love the “love story.” It’s the perfect ever-after. I’m a romantic, what can I say! And I know just about every word by heart, that’s how much I’ve watched it.

If I were a fruit, I would be: An apple, because I love red!! I know it’s silly but true! When I was in middle school each year I wore red when we had our school pictures. I never even realized it until I looked back years later. It was just the color that always came to mind when preparing for my school pictures! And my first car was Cherry Red!! When I redesigned my site and my designer asked me what my favorite colors were I told her I’d love some red but had no idea if we could pull it off and we did and I LOVE IT! It’s me, through and through!

Addicted to: My email! I’m checking it all day, everyday. It’s on my phone, it’s on my iPod touch and my laptop is always on. I don’t normally go more than 15 minutes without checking my email. And I just discovered texting (I know it’s been around a while, I just never did it) and I could text all day long. Oh and right now semi-sweet morsels, a handful satisfies me all the time!

Currently Reading: 1-2-3- Magic: Effective Discipline for children 2-12. I’m a stay at home mom of two girls ages 5 and 3 and lets just say they listen to dad more than mom. I’m trying my best to learn how to effectively discipline them without always yelling. I’m really hoping this book will help!

You Should Know: I love to talk! Especially after I have a glass of wine. I love interesting people and enjoy chatting about anything. However, I am also shy. I know that makes no sense at all but if I’m in a room full of people I don’t know, it takes me a while to open up but then once I do, I don’t stop!  Those that know me find it hard to believe but one of my friends remembers when she first met me (it was at a job) and though the Karen she knows now is a very talkative person, the Karen she first met was shy.

Britt Reints

Name: Britt Reints (@missbritt)

Resides In: Orlando, FL area

Blogs At: http://miss-britt.com

Favorite Movie Character: would you judge me too harshly if I said Edward Cullen? (Editor’s Note: NO!) OK, how about Johnny and Baby from Dirty Dancing? Man I love that movie more than anything. Although, Dolly Parton’s character in Steel Magnolias is so fabulous!

If I were a fruit, I would be: a peach. Not because I’m unusually sweet though, but because a peach is one of those fruits you might not think of right away but then you have one and it’s like BAM! POW! JUICE! I’m kind of BAM! POW! JUICE! I think.

Addicted to: my morning coffee.  I gave up cigarettes, but have not been able to give up the black gold.

Currently Reading: Committed, by Elizabeth Gilbert. Her Eat, Pray, Love was life-changing for me and I’ve been counting down the months to read her most recent work.  So far, it’s just as fantastic as her last book, if not more.

You Should Know: I will inevitably accidentally put my foot in my mouth within 5 minutes of meeting you.  My brain is pretty fast, but my mouth, unfortunately, is faster.

***

We’d love to hear your fresh perspective!

  • Do you have a favorite romantic film?
  • How do you get your children to respect and pay attention to you?
  • Can you function before a cup of coffee in the morning?
Leave a Reply

