Skip to content

Five FAB BlogHer Attendees You Should Know: Part Four

July 26, 2010

Flatout Fabulous Logo

Hello and happy Monday from the Flatout crew! BlogHer is just around the corner, and we are excited to profile not just three, but five fabulous bloggers today! If you didn’t catch the first four profile posts, here is what you missed:

This week’s profile features five women who collectively have:

  • decided to tackle building a new Website
  • conquered the highly-coveted skill of inbox organization
  • been to BlogHer four times already
  • come to terms with an internet addiction
  • contemplated a dinnertime mutiny

***

Mom RN Picture

Name: Tamara Walker (@MomRN)

Resides In: Edmond, OK

Blogs At: http://www.MomRN.com and http://www.blogtalkradio.com/MomRN

Favorite Movie Character: Inigo Montoya from The Princess Bride. He’s funny, witty, and even though he’s obsessed with avenging his father’s death, he’s actually a pretty kind-hearted guy. My favorite quote of his is, “You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”

If I were a fruit, I would be: A grape. Thick-skinned but soft in the middle.

Addicted to: Diet soda and chocolate. Trying to break my addiction to the former, but the latter is here to stay!

Currently Reading: Sams Teach Yourself WordPress in 10 minutes. Had a static website for several years. Time for a move, if only I can figure it all out!

You Should Know: That I am a very short, one-legged, brunette, chatty, fun-loving, mom of two who loves God, her family, her friends, and loves to laugh!

Michelle of Honestly and Truly

Name: Michelle (@honestandtruly)

Resides in: Chicago ‘burbs

Blogs at: http://honestandtruly.blogspot.com, http://honestandtrulyreviews.blogspot.com and contributing writer at The Chicago Moms

Favorite Movie Character: Linus from Peanuts – he was always so even keel, no matter what Lucy did to provoke him (most of the time!), and he stood up for his passions and beliefs while supporting other people and generally being the kind of kid I hope the wee ones grow up to be like!

If I were a fruit I’d be: A strawberry – because I keep coming back year after year and can be sweet or tart depending on when you catch me.

Addicted To: getting my inbox to a manageable level. I love cleaning out my inbox and having that satisfied feeling like I accomplished something. It’s an ongoing struggle, and I still lose emails periodically, but I have goals!

Currently Reading: All the magazines that have built up on – and now next to – my nightstand over the past, ummm, while. I’m whittling through them – and it’s possible the stack is well over a foot high. Or was. I wonder what color my nightstand is, anyway….

You should know: that I am a recent stay at home mom who is determined to use some of my newfound “free” time (no, I can’t type that with a straight face) to reconnect with loves from before children. It won’t be all driving my autistic son to therapies and my daughter to her activities and carpooling.  I’m planning to start riding horses again, learn to decorate cakes, and even take decent pictures. Because I also learned to clone myself when I quit my job. Really.

AMNichols

Name: Anne-Marie Nichols (@amnichols)

Resides In: Rocky Mountain High, Colorado

Blogs At: http://www.thismamacooks.com and http://www.the-write-spot.com

Favorite Movie Character: Spock. “I have been and always shall be, your friend.”

If I were a fruit, I’d be: A Cuties Mandarin Orange, because they’re sweet, kid-friendly and travel well.

Addicted to: Cheese! “The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.” – Willie Nelson

Currently Reading: Medium Raw: A Bloody Valentine to the World of Food and the People Who Cook by Anthony Bourdain. I saw Anthony speak in Denver while he was writing this book. While he covers much of the same territory he spoke about – his feelings about Alice Waters, Rachael Ray and Sandra Lee among others – it’s also a peek into Tony, the chef, the dad, the husband, and the man. It’s a must for any Bourdain or culinary fan.

You Should Know: that I’ve been attending BlogHer since 2006. For me, it’s like returning home.

robynface

Name: Robyn Wright (@RobynsWorld)

Resides In: St. Louis, MO

Blogs At: http://www.RobynsOnlineWorld.com

Favorite Movie Character: I’ve been thinking and thinking and seriously can’t come up with a favorite. So many great movies, so many diverse characters!

If I were a fruit, I would be: A tomato – everyone thinks it’s one thing (a vegetable), but it’s really something else (a fruit)

Addicted to: The internet – yes, there, I said it! I love being connected! I honestly get anxious if I go without for too long – thank goodness for my iPhone!

Currently Reading: Re-reading The Bipolar Child

You Should Know: Sometimes I come off as a know-it-all, but that is never my intention. I am always just trying to be helpful and share information. Oh, and on top of that I have a really LOUD voice. If you are around me and I’m too loud I am never offended if you ask me to talk quieter though.

Jill Berry

Name: Jill Berry (@MusingsfromMe)

Resides In: between DC and Baltimore

Blogs At: http://www.MusingsfromMe.com

Favorite Movie Character: Leanne Tuohy from the Blind Side and Sandra Bullock (her portrayor) are amazing women. The real-life Tuohy is even more of a role model for moms everywhere than the screen version. The real-life Sandra Bullock was a lightweight in almost all of her movie roles until Blind Side. In Blind Side she portrayed a woman who is a force to be reckoned with. Tuohy and Bullock make quite a team.

If I were a fruit, I would be: A banana — I may look one way on the outside, but if you want to get to know me you will see that I am different underneath the protective exterior.

Addicted to: Chocolate. Not ashamed to admit it.

Currently Reading: The Help by Katherine Stockett

You Should Know: I spend way too much time in my minivan drivings kids hither, thither, and yon. When not in my minivan, I can be found standing in front of the pantry, fridge, or freezer wondering what is for dinner and why I am the only one who makes dinner each night!

***

We’d love to hear your fresh perspective!

  • What blog do you always make time to read?
  • Are you planning to read The Help? It seems to be on everyone’s book list!
  • If your attending BlogHer, what is the one thing you are determined to do in the city?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 6:09 pm

    Thank you, Flatout! It is an honor to be featured here with so many fabulous ladies!

  2. July 26, 2010 7:24 pm

    Honored to be included on the list with so many other great ladies! Excited to see everyone at BlogHer – it is almost here! Happy Dance!

  3. July 27, 2010 1:02 am

    Oh how fun! Thanks so much for the feature. Those were surprisingly hard questions to answer! Can’t wait to meet you all in less than two weeks!

  4. July 27, 2010 1:29 am

    One thing I plan on doing during my time in NYC is visiting NYU, my old stomping grounds. The entire weekend is gonna be fabulous.

Trackbacks

  1. Seven FAB BlogHer Attendees You Should Know: Final Edition « Flatout Fresh
  2. I Left My Buns in New York City « Flatout Fresh

Leave a Reply

