Skip to content

Healthy Back-to-School Lunch Options: Flatout Turkey BLT Wrap

September 16, 2010

Flatout Foodie Logo

It’s the fourth day of our healthy lunch bunch video series. Today, Jennifer shows us how to conquer an amusing – and often exhausting – challenge: being a mom of two boys!

Lunch Menu Day 4

Hello there! I am so excited to be a part of Flatout’s new healthy school lunches initiative!  Not to gush but our family is a huge Flatout fan so this project is right up our alley!

Let me introduce myself…My name is Jennifer Gerlock and I am a mom to two (precocious) and very active young boys. In addition to my role as “team soccer mom,” I am a business owner, blogger (Hip As I Wanna Be) and am currently training to run the NYC Marathon for charity. Whew!

In short, I tend to be a busy lady with a family that leads an equally busy lifestyle.

One thing that is very important to my husband and I, is proper nutrition on the go. That translates into a need for healthy recipes that are nutritious, simple and time saving! My focus during this project will be to bring other busy families out there some lunch recipes that they (or their children) can make in a pinch and still feel confident about!

I hope you enjoy!  Please feel free to connect with me on Facebook or Twitter anytime, especially if you have recipe suggestions or want to commiserate on the mania of boys!

***

Flatout Turkey BLT Wrap

I have very picky eaters! Can anyone relate? Even my picky munchkins like this recipe, though. (Mom and Dad are obsessed also!)

  • 2 oz turkey
  • 1 tbsp cream cheese
  • Optional: 1 tsp low-fat mayonnaise
  • 2 pieces turkey bacon
  • Lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Flatout wrap

Side item suggestions: grapes, apples, bannanas or a fruit of your choice. My boys are nuts about taking small fruits to take to school. Grapes are the favorite of the moment.

Side item recipe: “Kid Creation” Trail Mix
At first I couldn’t get my kids to eat anything remotely like this but the minute I had them thinking up their own healthy concoctions and mixing them together… Voila! They were converts!

  • 1 c of miniature pretzel sticks
  • 1 c of any flavored cheerios
  • 1 c of peanut butter chips
  • 1 c of goldfish
  • 1 c of miniature m&m’s
  • 1 c of dried fruit or cranberries
  • 1 c of peanuts

I welcome suggestions to these recipes! (Hey, we are all in this together!)

Bon appetit!

***

We’d love to hear your fresh perspective!

  • Are you a mom of growing boys? What are their lunchbox essentials?
7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 11:15 am

    Love that water bottle!

    Fantastic recipe — my daughter would LOVE this.

  2. September 16, 2010 2:27 pm

    Nom Nom.. I want the wrap AND the kid mix!

  3. September 17, 2010 9:05 am

    So you were the one who took the rest of our bacon!

  4. January 10, 2011 2:47 pm

    We buy romaine also because we feed it to our guinea pigs

Trackbacks

  1. Healthy Back-to-School Lunch Options: Full Week One Menu + Shopping List « Flatout Fresh
  2. A Month of Healthy Back-To-School Lunch Menus + Grocery Lists « Flatout Fresh
  3. The Foodie In Me | Hip As I Wanna Be

Leave a Reply

