Skip to content

Happy {Healthy} Holidays

November 29, 2010

Flatout Fitness Logo

If you celebrated Thanksgiving last week, I sincerely hope you enjoyed all of the delicious food and subsequent leftover recipes. I view last Thursday as the kick start for the rest of the holiday season and for the most part, that means a lot of fun and a positive attitude.

Except, of course, when it comes to exercise.

Between all of the foods (my favorite, of course, being the sugar-laden cookies and pies), the shopping and the gatherings, I would much rather spend my leftover time (or lack thereof) doing this…

Source

But unfortunately, the more time I spend laying around like Fido, the harder it becomes to get back to my regularly scheduled workout routine when the holidays are over.

So this year, I’ve developed a three-step plan to keep myself on track. It allows me the freedom to stay active on my terms, without overwhelming myself in the midst of holiday hoopla. I would love for you to join me. Together we can make sure to keep the holidays happy – and healthy, too.

Step 1: Get at least 30 minutes of physical activity every day.

This doesn’t necessarily mean going to the gym – that holiday shopping does involve walking, after all, and we know that walking is a great workout! You don’t have to go crazy because every little bit of activity counts, whether you are on the elliptical or building a snow fort. Make sure to pat yourself on your back every day that you accomplish this goal.

Step 2: To ensure you get 30 minutes of activity, hold yourself accountable.

This accountability can be achieved many different ways. For example, if you are a person who relies heavily on your calendar or planner, schedule physical activity as you would any other appointment. If you are a person who loves group exercise, tell one of your classmates your goals for attending each week and give them your email address or phone number. Ask them to motivate you before each class or give you tough love when you miss a class. Even better, find a friend to send your exercise log to weekly for a check in. Any method that further motivates you to accomplish your goal (or makes you want to work harder when you fall a bit short) is great.

Step 3: All that exercise is good, but make sure to keep tabs on healthy eating, too.

I will be the first person to tell you to have that piece of pie or extra cookie because I firmly believe that depriving ourselves (especially around the holidays) of the foods we enjoy will only make us crave them even more, setting us up for tummy aches later. That said, I’m making it a goal to be mindful of portion sizes this season and hope to avoid that “too full” feeling as often as I can. To achieve this, I will strive to fill my plate with more fruits and vegetables at every gathering or party. I will also make sure to remember that it’s OK to have leftovers! I know when all is said and done that I can enjoy that stuffing or green bean casserole again the next day, wrapped up in a Flatout wrap. Those ham or turkey leftovers will make a perfect FOLDit sandwich, too.

***

We’d love to hear your fresh perspective:

  • What are your holiday fitness goals? How do you fit in activity when it gets busy?
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kenz @ All The Weigh permalink
    November 29, 2010 4:49 pm

    We make time for things that are important to us..and we have to remind ourselves how important it is to workout even during the holidays.

    It works..I lost last year and plan to lose this year too. 🙂

    • November 30, 2010 11:13 am

      That’s awesome, Kenz! Just checked out your blog and can’t wait to read more. Thanks for sharing. Cheers!

Trackbacks

  1. Falling Off the Fitness Sleigh – Er, Wagon « Flatout Fresh

Leave a Reply

