Skip to content

Jennifer Gerlock: MammaManiaMarathon

December 3, 2010

When our friend Jennifer Gerlock told us she was running the NYC Marathon, we were impressed. We worked with Jennifer on our month of back-to-school lunch posts and had gotten to know her and her family, so we fully supported her decision to set out and accomplish such a huge goal.

When Jennifer added that she was simultaneously working to raise money to help fight childhood obesity, we we not only impressed, but also knew we had to help. Flatout provided partial sponsorship to help Jennifer reach her goals and asked her to stop by our blog post-race to share her story. We are sure you will find it as inspirational as we do.

***

What do the Chilean Miner, Al Roker, Jared of Subway fame, Meredith Viera, Bobby Flay and little ole me have in common?

We all conquered the New York Marathon on November 7th.


Running this specific marathon has been on my bucket list since I was a child. At the tender age of 9, I was exposed to marathon madness while living in Fort Wadsworth in Staten Island. I distinctly remember watching the swarms of runners descend upon our front yard prior to the beginning of the race. I also remember my mother saying that she thought they all were crazy.

I was instantly fascinated.

Running the New York Marathon has been on my “bucket list” ever since. Luckily for me, I have a close friend who is equally as “crazy” as I, and so the two of us embarked on the journey together.

Our 26.2 mile trek began in Fort Wadsworth, Staten Island, and wound its way through Brooklyn, Queens, Harlem, the Bronx and Manhattan. Each area not only boasted its own challenges but also its own flavor and unique sightseeing opportunities, not to mention hundreds of cheering spectators.

Was it a difficult feat? Absolutely. I was exhausted.

Was it worth it? No question about it. (Especially since I was working to raise money for the Run For Something Better Charity to help fight childhood obesity.)

In the end, running is something that I do for myself. It keeps me sane. It helps me center. It is my chance to be something more than a mother, a wife, a friend or a professional. It is a chance to take on and conquer my own self-imposed limitations. When I run I feel like nothing less than a warrior. I feel invincible.

Just the other day my 9 year-old son asked me if he could go out running with me sometime. He’s never asked me that before. I think I am rubbing off on him. He told me that he is not “ready” for 26 miles yet but is willing to give one or two miles a try.

His willingness to pull on running shoes made me smile and realize that I have come full circle. Hopefully one day I’ll be the one cheering him on from the sidelines.

Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

Flatout Bread has generously partnered with me and my charity, Run For Something Better, to help in the fight against childhood obesity. Over the next six months we’ll be working together to bring you and your children healthy living information so that we can all lead more active and healthy lives!

***

We’d love to hear your fresh perspective:

  • Have you set out to tackle a big fitness goal? What were the biggest challenges you faced?

Leave a Reply

